Living Heritage: Our values, beliefs and ways of life shape our sense of identity, belonging and place, connecting past, present and future.

What is ICH?

What is Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH)?

ICH encompasses the underlying fabric of our lives -- stories, skills, traditions, ways of doing things, ways of speaking, and ways of interacting with each other and the environment. It does not always leave a material record behind, but rather is passed from person to person and from generation to generation. It is so deeply embedded in our cultural identities that we oftentimes take it for granted.

ICH does not reside solely in the past. It is those elements of the past which continue on in the present. It informs who we are and what we want to be. Due to increasing reliance on technology, globalization, and other factors, many elements of our ICH are endangered.


Click here to download this document


Latest Tweet

    Subscribe To Our Newsletter