We are excited to share that we have partnered with the Museums Association of Saskatchewan to bring you a symposium, Getting Real about Reconciliation to take place on the afternoons of November 2nd and 3rd. Stay tuned for registration details coming soon!

Day one will feature keynote presentations and discussions from our distinguished panel of individuals who have significant experience and insight in the area of reconciliation, moderated by our very own Kristin Catherwood, Director of Living Heritage. We are honoured to be hosting such a venerable panel and look forward to the conversation their presentations will inspire.

Chief Cadmus Delorme, a Cree and Saulteaux, is a citizen of the Cowessess First Nation. Mr. Delorme recently achieved his Institute of Corporate Director designation, received a Master of Public Administration from the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy and a Bachelor of Business Administration along with a Certificate in Hospitality, Tourism and Gaming Entertainment Management from the First Nations University of Canada. Chief Delorme is currently serving his second term as Chief of the Cowessess First Nation. 

Cody Groat is an Assistant Professor in the Department of History and Indigenous Studies Program at the University of Western Ontario. He is Kanyen'kehaka and a band member of Six Nations of the Grand River. Cody also serves as the President of the Indigenous Heritage Circle, a national not-for-profit dedicated to the advancement of First Nations, Inuit, and Metis cultural heritage priorities.

Dr. Gerald L. Pocius is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Folklore at Memorial University of Newfoundland. He is currently Senior Research Fellow at Cape Breton University, where he teaches courses in folklore—including an “in-community” course at Wagmatcook First Nation, through CBU’s Unama’ki College. He is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Canada and the American Folklore Society. He is a recipient of the Marius Barbeau Medal from the Folklore Studies Association of Canada for his lifetime contribution to Canadian folklore studies.

For more information, visit our Symposium page.